Recommended: The 50 Greatest Postwar British Writers

Though it was published in 2008, I just came across this list, by The Times of London, of the fifty greatest British writers since 1945. Each summary includes one essential work that represents the respective author’s ouevre — for Orwell, it’s Nineteen Eighty-Four (which, embarrassingly, I still haven’t read, but is on my “list”); for Ian McEwan it’s The Child in Time; for Roald Dahl it’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory; and for V.S. Naipaul it’s In A Free State. As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve never read any Naipaul, but I’ve recently read a few reviews of his authorized biography, by Patrick French, and I’m thoroughly fascinated.

This entry was posted in Recommended. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

