Recommended: World Lit Education

I’m heading to Kraków, Poland this weekend—I’ve been to Warsaw, which was fascinating, but this will be my first time in one of the only Polish cities that escaped destruction during World War II. It’s the second-largest city in Poland, home to what is consistently touted as the most beautiful town square in Eastern Europe, and only an hour or so away from the Auschwitz-Birkenau camp, which I will of course be visiting. Anyway, it struck me that my knowledge of Polish authors is sorely lacking (in other words, I don’t know any), and found these suggestions on The Guardian‘s “Culture Vulture” blog. The blog has actually recently launched a “world literature tour,” where every two weeks they ask readers to nominate a country whose indigenous literature they’ll proceed to explore. Pretty cool.

This entry was posted in Recommended. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

